An interesting and disparaging take on the current education model from an Ivy League millennial

Since the author does such a great job of laying out the facts I’ll just give some relevant quotes from the article (note emphasis is mine):

With university administrators at a loss over how to navigate a Covid-plagued fall semester, I’m not surprised that students are now protesting tuition, considering gap years and asking themselves: Is college worth it?

I am surprised that it took a pandemic to get to this point. The truth is, Covid-19 didn’t break higher education. The model has been broken for a long, long time….

*When I graduated in 2013, I was six figures poorer, and felt confused by the lackluster education I received and the “bro” culture I encountered. A few years later, when I considered an MBA, it felt like déjà vu: an exhorbitant price tag, outdated pedagogy

That parallel led me to found brunchwork, a modern education company. In working with thousands of ambitious professionals on their business careers, I found that I’m not alone in my disdain of higher education: Too many of us are not getting enough out of college.

So what’s broken with higher education?

First, we all recognize the $1.6 trillion student debt problem. That’s a lot of money for an education that’s not particularly relevant or effective.

I studied economics and mathematical finance, coursework that sounds practical but was in fact largely useless to both my startup and my Wall Street career . Like many finance firms, my first employer had no expectation that recent grads (all from top universities) had adequate preparation for the job —all new hires go through intensive training programs.