"We must trust *the scientists*"?

"I get a chuckle every time I see in the media that we must “trust the scientists and the experts.” I am a PhD chemist with more than 25 years of experience in the pharmaceutical industry. I have learned that scientists and experts are wrong as frequently as anyone else, perhaps more so, due to our general arrogance.

Common sense is a much more useful tool than expertise. My advice is to listen to as many sources as possible, then use your common sense and make up your own mind. Be skeptical of all experts."
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=https://amp.newsobserver.com/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/article242182371.html&ved=2ahUKEwifp-6iiLXpAhVb8HMBHU4CDgAQFjADegQICRAB&usg=AOvVaw250_SuxqrtljPIKRO6yZ9J&ampcf=1

Compare this with -

" A Review: “Naomi Oreskes: Why we should trust scientists.” Filmed in May 2014 at TEDSalon NY. 19: 14

Michelle Heart

A few weeks ago, after viewing Naomi Oreskes’ May 2014 TED video presentation argument titled “Why we should trust scientists,” the students in my composition class concluded that they could trust Oreskes’ rhetoric because she ‘sounded like someone’s best aunt’ and that she was ‘touchable: someone they could relate and connect to.’

Indeed, in her recent TED presentation, science historian and bestselling author Oreskes skillfully merges the generally distinct identities of a scientist (herself) and her general audience by addressing both as “we” from the beginning. With that connection the impending debate on behalf of the scientists’ credibility becomes all-inclusive, allowing both, the scientist presenting the argument and her public audience, an equal stake to share in its solution.