Qualified Immunity vs Systemic Immunity

Considering the police atrocities that have recently captured the airwaves, qualified immunity has become a hot topic. Certainly, methods of limiting official barbarism need to be discussed. Banning chokeholds and ending qualified immunity are in the mix of topics. If you cannot subdue a suspect with a chokehold, which option do you resort to? Is the alternative less dangerous and forceful, or more so?

Qualified immunity may be another quagmire. If I am an officer called to a domestic violence scene, what do I do if I need to restrain a party? Will I risk losing my well being in order to save a victim? Or, will I refrain from engagement to preserve my home and family? Without doubt, increased risk to officers, will result in increased risk to victims of crime. So then what can we do?

Suppose we allow a victim of police misconduct to sue an officer. Does the officer have sufficient wealth to compensate for material abuse? Who has the deep pockets? Who is responsible for police misconduct? Who is in charge of policy and training? Who tells the police where to patrol?

The local system of politicians, that supervise police policy, have the deep pockets to pay abuse claims. The real solution for police misconduct is to place the liability in the hands of elected officials and local governments. The mayors and district attorneys can explain why they do not punish repeat offenders to the voters. Imagine implementing the concept of accountability in government.