Federal taxes - from whom? for whom?

As a liberal newbie here, I’ve seen a lot of rhetoric from the right that members of the caravan are invading our country for “government cheese”. I’ve seen just as much from the left that says “No, no, they’re fleeing violence and seeking to build a better, safer life.” The truth, as is always the case, lies somewhere in the middle. But it got me thinking.

I direct this serious query mostly to the right-leaning members of the forum, whose political viewpoint I think can be fairly stated as “No more taxation than is absolutely necessary.” It seems clear to me that the left/right dispute in this area revolves around “more” and “necessary”. So I ask for your opinions, focused at the 5,000-foot level:

1. What federal taxes should be collected?
  2. From what entities (businesses, individuals), and in what proportion?
  3. For which purposes?

I intend absolutely no snark here. I’m genuinely curious as to e.g. whether a business owner (or corporation) should be taxed on business income; whether environmental regulation and protection (which costs money) is a legitimate government function; whether single-payer healthcare should be OK only for senior citizens (because Medicare existed long before this question) or for all citizens (or not at all).

direct taxes should be apportioned equally among the states, indirect taxes should be uniform across the states. That is what the constitution provides for. until 1914 taxes were raised by tariffs, indirect taxes, and excise taxes which are also indirect taxes.

Then came the fed which needed debt to increase the money supply and then came government borrowing. With bonds as collateral or reserves the government needed to borrow as income taxes were the method to secure government debt.

Thanks for replying. So, given today’s national and global economies, what realistic changes should be made? Apart from the simple, obvious, and highly unlikely “tax less, and spend WAY less”?